stylized chromaticity diagram and ISCC logo

You are currently viewing the ARCHIVE of the ISCC web site. The information here is no longer being updated, and all new information will be posted on our new site:

Menu troubles?
Use the site map.

ISCC Godlove Award

The Godlove Award was established by Mrs. Margaret N. Godlove in memory of her husband, Dr. I. H. Godlove. The fund was presented to and accepted by the ISCC during the 25th Anniversary Meeting of April 6, 1956. The award is usually, but not necessarily, presented biennially in odd-numbered years.

We have consolidated the award nomination forms into a single document. Download it here, print, and send to the ISCC office. Or you can scan the form and email it to us. We hope to get an online form enabled soon.

The Godlove Award is the most prestigious award bestowed by the Inter-Society Color Council, and honors long term contributions in the field of color. Candidates will be judged by their contribution to any of the fields of interest related to color, whether or not it is represented by a Member-Body. A candidate's contribution is to be considered in the light of the objectives of the Council as defined in Article II of the Constitution. This contribution may be direct, it may be in the active practical stimulation of the application of color, or it may be an outstanding dissemination of knowledge of color by writing or lecturing, based upon original contributions of the nominee. The candidate need not have been active in the affairs of the Council, but they must be current or former members of the ISCC. All candidates must have had at least five years experience in their particular field of color.

The most recent recipient of the Godlove Award was Anna Campbell Bliss in 2015. All recipients are listed below.
1957 Deane B. Judd
1959 Ralph M. Evans
1961 Dorothy Nickerson
1963 David L. MacAdam
1965 Isay A. Balinkin
1967 Edwin I. Stearns
1969 Harry Helson
1971 Norman Macbeth
1973 Dorothea Jameson and Leo Hurvich
1975 Vincent C. Vesce
1977 Hugh R. Davidson
1979 Gunter Wyszecki
1981 Robert M. Boynton
1983 Eugene Allen
1985 Franc Grum
1987 Charles D. Reilly
1989 W. David Wright
1991 Richard S. Hunter
1993 Fred W. Billmeyer, Jr.
1995 Joel Pokorny and Vivianne Smith
1997 Henry Hemmendinger
1999 Calvin S. McCamy
2001 Max Saltzman
2003 Rolf Kuehni
2005 Alan R. Robertson
2007 Robert W.G. Hunt
2009 Roy S. Berns
2013 Joy Turner Luke
2015 Anna Campbell Bliss

Macbeth Award | Nickerson Award